Aussie Wedding – Larry and Bev Turner’s youngest daughter, Tiffany was married on Saturday 13/12/14 at the Old Wisanger School on beautiful Kangaroo Island in South Australia, followed by her reception at the Iconic family business Emu Ridge.
Tiffany chose this location because Wisanger is the area where her ancestors settled on Kangaroo Island, as well as the place where her Grandfather and great Grandfather went to School/Church.
Tiffany and Will are one of only three to ever use this venue for a wedding. Tiffany is the third Turner descendant to be married at the old school, two of her ancestors were married there in the early 1900’s and Rosemary Bell held her reception there in 1988.
The ceremony involved the bridal party padlocking padlocks to a hanging rack. The keys to the padlocks were thrown off the Emu Bay Jetty, hence their hearts are locked together forever.
Tiffany and her friends love performing arts which is reflected throughout the ceremony. A beautiful reading by Wills sisters, a fairy tale poem and an amazing surprise song sang by Tiffany to Will “Dear Future Husband” by Meghan Trainor. In keeping Tiffany’s bridesmaids Emily and her boyfriend also sang a song during the witnessing of the marriage “Love is an open door” from the movie Frozen.
To view Tiffany’s entertaining song, click on the video below
If you would like to view more images of Tiffany and Will’s wedding, click here for Rosemary Photographys pics for a great overview. This link will also take you to some pics of the gorgeous flower girls
Tiffany asked her Grandfather, Ralph Turner, to be the witness to her marriage, he was a scholar there in his youth as was his father before him .
The wedding party, family and friends adjourned to Emu Ridge Eucalyptus Farm for the Reception and wedding celebrations. Emu Ridge was founded and developed by Larry and Bev Turner Tiffany’s parents in 1991 specialising in the unique production of Eucalyptus Oil distilled from the Eucalyptus cneorifolia (mallee) grown on their property. For Images of family and friends building the reception area for this Aussie reception click on this link.
Maggie Patterson, of Maggie’s Photography, was one of many impressed with Tiffany’s decision to hold her ceremony at the old Wisanger School. Maggie had already spent many hours archiving the history of the school, so we thought we would share some of her work with you.
The Wisanger Farmers Assembly Room was originally built in 1884 for use as a schoolroom and a meeting place for the district. The school officially opened in 1885 and provided continuous schooling until the opening of Kingscote Area School in 1945. The original name was forgotten and the building was always known as the Wisanger School. It was a focal point of the district for meetings, church services, Sunday school, polling booth, social events and of course, a few weddings. However, the old school was in danger of becoming just another derelict ruin, as it was showing great signs of deterioration. So in 1982 Warren Boxer, the owner of the property, appointed a committee of scholars to explore ways of restoring the building. They were lucky enough to be able to hire Ted Elling, a well-known stonemason, who agreed to come to Kangaroo Island and help restore the Wisanger School.
The school is now a museum with both Ralph Turner and Maggie Patterson’s husband, Kingsford Florance, attending the official opening of the new building in 1983.
Not only have the Turners taken a step back in time and re-lived some of their past history, but they have also made new history, which can now be passed down through future generations.
#kangarooisland #wedding #wisangerschool